O Holy Night

The magical time between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day is the one time of the year I actively regret not being religious – I LOVE Christmas carols! I love the goofy ones like “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” I love the cheesy ones like “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year,” and I even love the rock and country-tinge ones like “Blue Christmas.” What really gets my blood pumping and my heart racing is the overly-dramatic, overtly religious carols – “Silent Night,” “Away in a Manger,” “We Three Kings of Orient” all just kill me. Want me blubbering like a baby? Put on “Little Drummer Boy” and watch me cry like a little girl with a skinned knee. Southern folks who put on their Sunday best and drudge out into the cold to attend Christmas Eve services filled with church choirs and youth bands have no idea how good they’ve got it – to this day, my Lady Fair misses performing with her friends in the annual Christmas concert at her high school.

As far as I’m concerned, the most beautiful Christmas carol by far is “O Holy Night” – what I would give to perform this in front of an audience just once.

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah, a blessed Soltice, a grand Saturnalia, a cheerful Kwanzaa… just a Happy Holidays. Hope ya’ll enjoy.

Leave a Reply

